Florida Motorcycle License 🏍| ULTIMATE How to Get A FL Motorcycle License Guide (Tips, Info, & More)

Are you ready to explore Florida on a motorcycle? You’re in good company! With over 600,000 motorcycle registrations, Florida is the second most popular state with bikers in the US. It makes sense, given the year-round sunshine and beautiful scenery. The good news is that getting a Florida motorcycle license is relatively easy: you just have to pass a basic course and pay a few fees. Here’s your guide to obtaining a Florida motorcycle license endorsement or motorcycle-only license so you can hit the open road!

Florida Motorcycle License Requirements

If you want to operate a two- or three-wheeled vehicle with an engine size over 50cc in Florida, you must obtain a proper license. There are two types of motorcycle licenses in Florida: a motorcycle license endorsement and a motorcycle-only license. If you don’t have one of these and you’re driving a motorcycle, you can receive a fine, and it’s a violation of the law. The only difference between these licenses is whether you can operate a car as well. With a motorcycle license endorsement in Florida, you’ll be able to drive a car and operate a motorbike. If you have a motorcycle-only license, you will be unable to operate a car.

To obtain your motorcycle license endorsement, you must:

  • Have a valid Class E Florida driver’s license
  • Complete either the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic Rider Course updated (BRCu)
  • Submit valid ID and proof of passing BRC or BRCu at a driver license or tax collector office
  • Pay license fees

To obtain your motorcycle-only license you must:

  • Be at least 16 years of age and have a learner’s license for one year with no traffic convictions
  • Pass the Class E driver’s license knowledge exam
  • Complete either the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic Rider Course updated (BRCu) as per FL 322.12
  • Submit valid ID and proof of passing BRC or BRCu at a driver license or tax collector office
  • Pay license fees

How to Get a Motorcycle License in Florida

Ready to obtain a Florida motorcycle license? Thankfully, it’s relatively easy to get your motorcycle license endorsement in Florida. However, there are a few steps you’ll need to take. Obtaining a motorcycle-only license is a longer process, so you’ll need to plan ahead. Here are the steps you need to take:

Obtain Your Florida Learner’s Permit (if you haven’t already)

Under Florida law, you must have obtained your learner’s permit and have it for one year with no traffic convictions to proceed with motorcycle-only licensing. For a Florida motorcycle license, also known as the motorcycle endorsement, you’ll already have had your learner’s permit and driver’s license. So, if you currently hold a valid Class E Florida driver’s license, you’ve already crossed this off your list.

You must be at least 15 years old to start the process of obtaining a learner’s permit in Florida. A signed and notarized parental consent form is required for anyone under the age of 18. Florida requires passing a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course, a vision and hearing test, and Class E Knowledge Exam. The Class E exam is a 50 question multiple-choice exam, and a score of 80% or higher is considered passing. You will also need proof of identity/social security number/Florida residence. Click here to learn which documents you should bring.

Pass a Basic Rider Course

florida motorcycle license

Whether you’re getting your motorcycle license endorsement or motorcycle-only license, you must complete the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic Rider Course updated (BRCu). You may take these courses at any authorized Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Florida Rider Training Program sponsor. Both courses are 15 hours and cover basic skills for new riders. Even if you’ve had a motorcycle license before in another state, you still need to pass a basic rider course, if you never have done so. The BRC in Florida ranges in price from $99 to $300 depending on where you take it, and you should plan to be there for the entire day.

Most sponsors are transitioning to the BRCu version of the course. You must provide your own eye protection and gloves. Students are required to wear long pants, a long sleeved shirt or jacket, and sturdy shoes covering the ankles during classes. Sponsors provide handbooks, helmets, practice motorcycles, and insurance. Sponsors will also contact the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and inform them that you have passed the course. If you’re ready to take the course and obtain your basic rider course certificate in Florida, click here to find an authorized BRC or BRCu sponsor in your area. If you do not pass the Basic Rider Course the first time you take it, you have an additional 60 days to pass it without having to repay the fees. However, you cannot retest on the same day.

Submit Documentation and Pay Fees

Once you’ve passed the basic rider course, you will need to visit a driver license office or tax collector office to have your Class E driver’s license endorsed or your motorcycle-only license issued. You will need to bring proper proof of ID with you. Most likely, they should have a record of you passing your basic rider course. However, it’s always smart to bring a copy of the certificate issued just in case.

To obtain your Florida motorcycle license, you will also need to pay some fees at either office when you visit. The fees for a motorcycle license in Florida are as follows:

  • Endorsed license: $7.00 endorsement fee; additional $6.25 fee at tax collector offices
  • Motorcycle-only license: $48 new license fee; additional $6.25 fee at tax collector offices

You have a one year grace period between taking the BRC/BRCu course and having your license issued or endorsed. After one year, you must retake a Rider Skills test before obtaining your license or endorsement.

Florida Motorcycle License FAQ

How old do you have to be to get a motorcycle license in Florida?

You need to be at least 16 and have a learner’s license for one year with no traffic convictions to obtain a Florida motorcycle license.

How much does it cost to get a motorcycle license in Florida?

A motorcycle endorsement license requires a $7.00 fee and additional fee of $6.25 if you choose a tax collector’s office to obtain your endorsement. Motorcycle-only licenses cost $48, with the additional $6.25 transaction fee at a tax collector’s office. The BRC is an additional cost.

What is the difference between a Florida motorcycle-only license and motorcycle endorsement?

A motorcycle endorsement license is an additional endorsement on your Class E Florida driver’s license. It does not expire. A motorcycle-only license only permits motorcycle use.

Do I need motorcycle insurance in Florida?

Florida does not require insurance when registering a motorcycle. You may be required to purchase insurance if you are responsible for a crash in which there is injury or property damage.

I already have my motorcycle license from another state. Do I need to take a BRC or BRCu class?

Florida will reciprocate motorcycle-endorsed licenses from any state in the US except Alabama. If it is expired, you may have to retake the BRC. If you are relocating to Florida from Alabama, the state requires proof of a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course completion within the last year.

Once you’ve completed all the requirements, you’ll have the proper license to get the motorcycle of your dreams and hit the road! When you’re ready to start traveling farther with your bike, Federal Transport is here to help. Our professional motorcycle shipping services make it easy to send your motorcycle to rallies and conventions across the United States!